October 2020 Review

October 2020 Review Stanage Climbing

Our October 2020 Review gives a flavour of some of the activities we’ve been up to over the last month.  We have recently started compiling a monthly activity review.  Please check out our September 2020 review here. We hope you enjoy it. 

Scrambling Activities

A lot of our scrambling activities usually take place in Snowdonia,  but it is also possible to enjoy some fine scrambles and undertake scrambling training in the Peak District National Park too.  With that in mind, October kicked off for us with a fine evening enjoying the limestone scrambles in the Winnat’s Pass with Rachel.  The pass has two main scramble lines known as Elbow Ridge and Matterhorn Ridge. Together they offer a great few hours of scrambling fun.  The rock is loose in places and there isn’t much protection you’d be happy with, but the routes aren’t too technical if you have the skills and confidence.  

October 2020 Review Winnat's Pass

We also delivered several scrambling training days in the Peak District.  There are plenty of great venues to work on technical skills if you know where to go.  We know where to go!  The photo below shows Harry who spent time with Simon enjoying the secret scrambling opportunities at Stanage.  

Stanage Scrambling

Navigation

It is fair to say that we’ve enjoyed some great navigation training weather in October.  That is, weather where the visibility has been so poor that good navigation skills are essential.  Add into that boggy moorland and many rainy days and the recipe is complete!  We’ve run a few of our Introductory (Bronze) courses over the month and the photo above shows a typical poor weather day on the Derwent moors. 

October 2020 Review Navigation Course

We also ran a night navigation session.  Autumn can be a perfect time to learn a new skill like night nav.  You just need the right clothing, a decent headtorch and a go for it attitude.

October 2020 Review Night Navigation

Climbing

Our focus again has been Peak District National Park climbing and, amongst the wet days,  we’ve had some peachy blue sky days too.  We’ve run a Climber’s Self Rescue course, an Introductory Climbing course and several Private Guided days. 

October 2020 Review Self Rescue

We’ve also been able to get out for plenty of personal climbing too.  Cool grippy gritstone, no midges and some blue sky days. Choose the right day and this can be a perfect time for climbing.  The photos below show a few of the finer days.

Stanage Autumn Climbing
Lawrencefield Climbing

First Aid Training

Our ITC First Tor Lea Training first aid courses continue to be extremely busy and we’ve had lots going on this month.  We’ve delivered two Outdoor First Aid courses and one of Advanced Outdoor First Aid courses.  As always, we have such passionate and enthusiastic participants on our courses and we are dedicated to providing safe and industry leading training.  

October 2020 Review First Aid Courses

We are also the only  Peak District National Park provider of ITC Advanced Outdoor First Aid courses and this option is growing significantly in popularity.  Please check out our recent excellent Trip Advisor reviews of recent first aid courses here to get a flavour of what people think.

We also deliver a growing number of first aid courses for schools and industry.  During this month we’ve loved delivering two Emergency First Aid at Work courses for Cheshire schools.  We can run everything from Paediatric to First Aid at Work courses. Please do Contact Us if we can help with your organisations training requirements.   

Expeditions

Normally, as we sit writing this, we would be away in Nepal running one of our autumn Nepal expeditions.  Instead, for our October 2020 Review we are enjoying a UK autumn like most of the nation.   We have a long and valued history of delivering trips to this special part of the world. It breaks our hearts to not be able to be sharing a 2020 Peak Mountaineering adventure there.  Fortunately, we’ve come up with a temporary alternative.  We are reliving our 2019 trip through our 2020 Virtual Nepal Expedition. It has been great fun and it has been great to get so many lovely messages from people. It is clear many are enjoying this.  This trip has plenty of time still to run so please do join the team.  This is an expedition you can enjoy from the comfort of your own home!

Bridge Crossing Enroute to Gokyo

Half Term Holidays

The October Half Term showed how many people were keen to visit the national park.  We welcomed weaseling, climbing, abseiling and kayaking family groups and, despite some monsoon like days, had a great week.  The photo shows a very wet climbing session and one from a kayaking session.

October 2020 Review Family Climbing
October 2020 Review Kayaking
October 2020 Review Weaselling

Double Black Bike Repairs

Readers of our September update and regular followers on social media will know we have set up a new department called Double Black Bike Repairs. This is a dedicated bike repair, service and bike build business run in partnership by Peak Mountaineering junior Ben and Paul.  With that in mind, Paul and Ben spent 2 full weeks this month qualifying as high level Cytech trained mechanics.  It is intense training and builds on many years of personal experience.  But they learnt loads and loved the course.

Double Black Bike Repair

Double Black continues to grow and this month the business has undertaken bike services, bottom bracket replacements, hub and pivot bearing replacements and some tubeless tyre fittings.  The business will run as normal despite the upcoming national lockdown and so please do Contact Us if we can help with any repair or bike build requirements.

What lies ahead?

As we complete this October 2020 Review we are just coming to terms with a new national lockdown to help combat growing COVID-19 numbers.  We have previously implemented our COVID-19 Guarantee and will be releasing an update on this in the coming days and understand the need to fully support the national effort to combat the Coronavirus pandemic. Please watch this space to keep up to date with developments.