Winter Course Reviews

We are extremely proud of our reputation as a provider of the highest quality training.  We also think it is extremely important that clients only leave reviews that are completely independent.  For that reason, we ask course participants to leave reviews on Trip Advisor.  

All the reviews on this page are copied directly from our Trip Advisor page and you can read the originals here (plus reviews of other courses). You can also read more about our course reviews policy here.  We hope it helps in your choice of course provider.

 

Angie - Feb 2014

Winter Skills

"I attended a Winter Skills course in Fort William run by Paul of Peak Mountaineering.  My fears of travelling to Scotland as a lone female, being an inexperienced walker and having concerns of inadequate kit, were soon eliminated by Paul's friendly and reassuring welcome, along with his very professional team.  If there are any girlies out there who are having second thoughts of attending one of the Peak Mountaineering courses, I can't stress enough how brilliant the whole experience was. I still can't believe that I did it! The views from the snowy mountains were incredible."

 

Andy - Feb 2014

Winter Skills

"Attended a winter skills course in the Fort William area organised by Peak Mountaineering. Paul and the team made me feel most welcome, providing skills transfer in a friendly and efficient manner. The pace was good and any questions were answered expertly. Thankfully the snow conditions were superb too."

 

Chem - Feb 2014

Winter Mountaineering

"Great winter mountaineering course in the Fort William area. Paul is a great instructor and took time to ask what we wanted to get out of the course. Highly recommended!"

 

Adrian - Feb 2014

Winter Skills

"Spent a varied three days in the Glencoe and Nevis Ranges, brushing up on some old techniques and progressing each day. Paul was very good at getting the most out of our abilities and the weather conditions. He listened to what we wanted out of the sessions and tailored each day to ensure it was challenging, rewarding and met expectations.  Cracking time, just rubbish that have to come back to work!"

 

Andy - Feb 2014

Winter Mountaineering

"Great time on a Peak Winter Mountaineering course around the Fort William area. The mountain locations were ideal, the activities spot-on for what we wanted to achieve and Paul's friendly personality and technical instruction were as faultless as ever. You can never control the weather but despite some mixed conditions at times, it added rather than detracted from the course so all in all it was a great time!"

 

Mark - May 2013

Private Guiding

"I have attended three climbing courses run by Peak Mountaineering and have also used Paul for personal guiding on a number of Scottish winter climbs. Paul is a highly experienced climber and skilled teacher who clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and enthusiasm for the outdoors with others; he is also a lot of fun to be with and can make even the dampest and dreariest day in the hills an entertaining and memorable experience. I would highly recommend Peak Mountaineering, whether you are a complete novice in need of the basics or whether you have done some climbing before and want to build on existing skills. The confidence and knowledge they give you will set you up for a lifetime of adventure."

 

Andrew - Feb 2013

Winter Skills

"A brilliant time had in the wintery wonderland of the Cairngorms with Paul doing, as usual, a brilliant job of teaching us some essential winter skills and allowing us to practice them and also taking in a stunning ridge climb which fitted in with both our aims for the course and more importantly, the avalanche risk assessments and weather reports which Paul also took time to review and explain to us."

 

Richard - Feb 2013

Winter Skills

"Considering heading to the Scottish mountains and need a guide? Look no further, Paul Lewis is your man. Quietly assured, a wealth of experience and good company! Enough said!"

 

Gail - Feb 2012        

Winter Skills    

"My husband and I just completed a weeks winter skills course with Paul based around the Fort William area. We didn't really know what to expect. We both have a fair amount of fair weather walking experience and wanted to develop our existing skills for more inclement weather... and boy Scotland didn't let us down!  Paul was fantastic,his knowledge is unsurpassed. We both finished the course with a wealth of new skills and confidence...it has been a truly life changing experience.  Thank you Paul...see you for the navigation skills course soon."

 

Elizeli - Feb 2012   

Winter Skills        

"I went on the winter skills course in Scotland. It's was awesome. I learnt a lot and was pushed to the limit. I felt a great sense of achievement at the end of the week. Paul the instructor is very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend, if you love the outdoors, to book a trip or course with Peak Mountaineering."

 

Steve - Feb 2012

Winter Skills            

"The plan of these two days was to prepare the group with sufficient winter skills needed in order to summit a 6000m Himalayan peak in August 2012.  The group had mixed abilities and Paul was able to compensate for this. Paul's teaching style was fantastic with everyone coming away from the course very confident in their abilities to look after themselves and other team members.  On day 1 we concentrated on winter skill and on Day 2 we completed a winter journey incorporating the skill learnt the previous day.   Overall, the course was run in a professional and unhurried manor. I have no qualms in recommending Peak Mountaineering to anyone who is looking to experience or learn new mountaineering skills.  Thanks Paul and I will be booking again soon!!"

 

Shereen - Jan 2012

Winter Skills

"Winter skills course in the northern Cairngorms- a great weekend where we learn't from Paul the true nature of Scottish winter. The most useful aspect of the course was the clear example of how to read the snowpack and the conditions on the ground. Other hard skills learn't included the use of a walking axe and crampons in both easy and steeper terrain. We were tested with harsh conditions but the course was extremely well delivered in all parts."