Expedition Client Reviews

Andy -January 2013

 

Island Peak Trek

Bit late writing the review for this but having seen that Paul is planning to run it again then I thought I would just write a paragraph or two on the the last one I did with Paul over there. 

It was easily the best thing I've ever done. End of story!

The mountain scenery of the Khumbu region was, obviously, staggering in its scale. 

The trekking was tiring at the higher altitudes but with some pretty stunning weather during the day and it split into small-ish chunks per day, it was enjoyable throughout. 

The tea-houses we stopped at were fairly standard throughout and sufficient for our needs with some pretty decent food available.

The highlights of the trip for me were sitting in the early morning sun staring across at Everest and Llhotse from Kala Pattar, the gorgeous blue Gokyo lakes and the trip over the Cho La Pass. 

There is also a fabulous contrast between trekking from the lower Khumbu which has forests, rivers, greenery etc and the much higher mountains where the rocks, glaciers and occasional bush dominate.

Due to illness on the day, I never bothered attempting the Island Peak ascent but I'd seen and done more than enough to not be too disappointed in that by then. 

A mention also has to be paid to both the hustle & bustle of Kathmandu (even Bob Seger wrote a song about it!) and the legendary flight into Lukkla from Delhi. The pilots are brilliant to do that time and again.

This is a decent-sized trip and its one I would love to do again in the future. I can't recommend it highly enough or Peak Mountaineering for their organisation of the one I was on.

 

Christopher B - November 2012

 

"Atlas Mountains"

Thanks to Peak Mountaineering for organising a great week in the Atlas Mountains.

We got to see some great parts of an amazing country, walk the less well trodden routes and experience some fantastic days (and evenings) in good company. This was all helped along by Paul being the right combination of leader and companion, Cal having co-ordinated everything to a tee from the UK and Peak used a local contact, guides and staff. That last point meant we benefitted from their local connection with the area and the trip put something back into skilled hands in the local economy directly.

Though weather stopped us just a little short of the top of Toubkal, the standard of the rest of the week was so strong that I wasn't overly concerned. It's a credit to Paul and the local guide’s skill that they made that call. Unfortunately, Peak hasn’t yet gained control of the weather (something to work on?).

Lots of good memories and Peak will definitely be seeing repeat business... Maybe to polish off ‘the peak that got away’.

Rob C - November 2012

 

"Atlas Mountain Trek"

I was going to name this review mount toubkal however this wasnt just a quick trip to climb mount toubkal. Paul and his gang organised the perfect trek to take in the joys of Morocco and the atlas mountains with a final summit attempt.

Spread over a week we all enjoyed the amazing variety of accommodation whether it was a tent with the most amazing mountain views or a luxury riad in the center of Marrakech. 

Sadly we didn't make it to the top of toubkal due to the weather but this didn't matter as we had seen and done so much in the rest of the week it became insignificant.

An amazing trip which exceeded every expectation!!!

Thanks guys.
Rob

 

MB - October 2012

 

"Great Toubkal Trek with superb service"

We had a great trek with Peak Mountaineering, everythings was well organised with superb service!
Our guide Ibrahim and Paul from Peak Mountaineering were really helpful and informative and the cook was also incredible - we were always amazed at how such fresh and immaculately prepared meals suddenly appeared out of nowhere (in very large quantities), especially considering everything was being carried by mule through a relatively remote region. We were also very grateful to the muleteers, who were always cheerful and worked very hard.
We highly recommend Paul and his company Peak Mountaineering!

 

Helen R - October 2012

 

Jebel Toubkal expedition - October 2012

It's hard to know where to start in reviewing our recent expedition to Morocco with Peak Mountaineering. What a fantastic week! 

The itinery was perfectly planned - from the pick ups at the airport to the the peaceful riad we stayed at on the first night to the actual trek itself. The trekking timetable included just the right amount of challenge and recovery - highlights of which involved an afternoon relaxing by the beautiful Lac D'Ifni and a stay in a traditional Berber village. 

Paul was a superb expedition leader - striking the perfect balance between excellent companionship and experienced leadership (although his Monopoly Deal skills could be improved). This may have been demonstrated best on the final ascent when our summit attempt was aborted due to dangerously high winds. Although we were disappointed, Paul's decision was accepted without question by the group due to his clear experience and communication. 

The in country team of guide, cooks and horsemen were also fantastic - the organisation was seamless, the food delicious and the team were a friendly and entertaining bunch. Also a big thank you is due to Cal at Peak Mountainerring HQ who did a great job of organising the pre-trip preparations and dealt with endless questions. 

In the interests of a balanced review, I have thought long and hard about what could be improved about the trip but other than maybe a few less noisy mountainside goats, I came up short. I simply can not recommend Peak highly enough to anyone considering this type of trip. They will certainly be my first choice, without hesitation, for any future outdoor activity/training days and I look forward to joining another expedition in the upcoming seasons.

Hannah B - October 2012

 

Jebel Toubkal Oct 2012

What a fantastic trip away with Peak Mountaineering. My first time away with Paul and it was superb.

The whole trip was extremely well organised, fun, challenging and even when not feeling the best Paul and the group picked you up and kept you going. The Atlas Mountains are stunning and with this trip you get to see a huge amount more than the average person completing a 2 day trip to Toukbal.

Paul's expertise was really worth every penny as we had to turn back on the final ascent due to dangerous conditions. With cooks, a mule team and a local guide we were very well cared for and enjoyed a lovely Riad back in Marrakesh. I would definitely use Peak Mountaineering again and would recommend them to anyone. Thanks for a brilliant adventure.
 
Becky TS - October 2012
 

Stok Kangri Expediton

 
Had an amazing time with Peak Mountaineering on the Stok Kangri expedition, a well organised trip that I could never fault. Paul really is an inspiration and a fantastic leader, I can't thank him enough for the opportunity given to me. The in-country support was fantastic too, both in the isolated Himalayan mountains and the bustling streets of Delhi. Even though none of the team reached the summit I still felt like we had all climbed our own mountain of actually having the courage, confidence and shear determination to undertake such a demanding expedition. I would highly recommend Peak Mountaineering to any friend or stranger! But more importantly I'd like to thank everyone involved with the organisation of this trip, it really was faultless!
 
Kylie C - August 2012
 

Stok Kangri Expedition 2012

Following what seemed like an endless wait, it was finally time to undertake our (long) planned expedition to summit Stok Kangri in the Stok region of the Himalayas.

Although the group did not summit, this turned out not to be the focus of the expedition, as it was all about the experience of trekking in another country and at altitude. Whilst there was a variety of experience within the group, it was very successful due to the leadership, knowledge and patience of Paul who ensured the group got the most out of the experience. For many this was the first time they had been to a country like India and experienced trekking at altitude and the challenges these conditions bring.

 

Andy M - August 2012

 

Stok Kangri

Just another truly awesome expedition from Peak Mountaineering. An ascent of a stunning 6000m+ peak, a chance to see some of the greatest buildings in the world (Taj Mahal, Akbar's Tomb and Agra Fort) and the opportunity to spend time with a great bunch of people absorbing the different way of life in both Delhi and Ladakh. Paul (Peak Mountaineering) and Guy (Pure Outdoor) were brilliant team-leaders throughout displaying their knowledge, sense of humour and good nature all the way along the trip. Thoroughly recommended!

 

Andrew - July 2012

 

Informative and fun exped training weekend

Before a group of us go on a trekking expedition to Stok Kangri (India) in September, we met up with each other and the organisers of the trip. We went over whatever useful information we needed to know for the trip and also got to know each other as well. Discussing gear, routes, altitude, emergency backup plans and various other bits and pieces, I think everyone in he team had a great time overall and are now raring to go. When you throw in a curry at the Day one and a fun bit of abseiling as a team-building exercise on Day two, I think the weekend was a great success!Andy -