Navigation client reviews

We are extremely proud of our reputation as a provider of the highest quality training.  We also think it is extremely important that clients only leave reviews that are completely independent.  For that reason, we ask course participants to leave reviews on Trip Advisor.  
 
All the reviews on this page are copied directly from our Trip Advisor page and you can read the originals here (plus reviews of other courses).  You can also read more about our course reviews policy here.  We hope it helps in your choice of course provider.
 

Martin- May 2014

Silver Navigation Course

Right from the beginning I've had a great experience with Paul and Peak Mountaineering. Initially i'd thought about doing the lower level navigation course but Paul took a genuine interest in what i wanted to achieve and suggested that given my level of experience i go straight to the higher level course - saving me quite a bit of money.

As for the course itself - well i had a fantastic time and learned an awful lot. Right from the start i felt like i was doing the navigation myself, the instructor Richard allowed me to make mistakes and learn from them rather than stopping me - this is a great way of learning. The techniques i was taught were presented in an accessible format and reinforced with practical experience. Through the course i was allowed to build up experience and confidence which meant which made the assessment at the end a breeze. 

Would happily recommend this company, and in fact I'm returning soon to complete one of their first aid courses.

Andrew - May 2014

Bronze Navigation Weekend

We booked the 2 day Bronze Navigation course and had a great time! Neither myself or my partner had any map reading skills however our instructor Richard made it simple for us to understand the information on the OS maps and find our way by using a compass. We both feel so much more confident now to venture off the beaten track and to throw away the guide books!!

John - April 2014

Yorkshire Dales Navigation Weekend

An excellent weekend in the Yorkshire Dales learning the finer details of navigation. Richard was spot on with his teaching, he was very knowledgable, helpful and patient. I came away from the course a more confident navigator and will be getting off the beaten track and putting it into practice. I will certainly consider Peak Mountaineering when looking for other courses to develop my mountain skills. Thanks, John.

Sarah - April 2014

Navigation Skills, Yorkshire Dales

Great weekend course, thanks very much – especially to Richard who was a brilliant instructor. He was so enthusiastic and encouraging and I really feel as if I learnt a lot and built upon what I knew – (which was some, but never quite enough to be useful). Now I hope I will actually put it into practice and not just rely on others when I am on the hill. It was really good to have time to concentrate on the techniques and detail, and all within such a relatively small but varied area within walking distance of the hut. The hut itself was very clean and well equipped.

Huw - April 2014

Nav Course

Fantastic course, very well set out and explained, I've come away much more capable a Navigator on the mountain. Thanks, Huw

Ian - Feb 2014

Top Quality Instruction

As an aspiring Mountain Leader I had booked a day long refresher course to check on the progress I was making and ensure I hadn't ingrained any bad habits. Paul worked very hard to tailor the day to my requirements and ensure that I got as much out of it as was possible. He was thorough, knowledgeable, patient and I came away inspired to continue my journey and confident I had received an excellent, professional and inspiring day out on the hills!

Lewis - Dec 2013

Brilliant Navigation Training

I attended a Peak Mountaineering Right Way in a Day navigation course at the end of November.....and it was fantastic. As someone who has always been nervous about getting off the beaten track this has been a revelation for me. 

The instructor (Steve) the group of 6 through a series of step by step techniques which gradually led us to confidently walk across the Kinder Plateau on compass bearings, find small contour features and relocate using easy to remember methods. I have been out solo twice since the course and can't believe how much more confident I feel. 

The organisation of the course was also first class and I was expertly guided through the booking process by Peak Mountaineering's office staff.

All in all a fantastic experience and I will certainly be using the company again. Thanks Peak Mountaineering.

Rob - Sept 2013

Navigation Skills

Excellent course! The instructors were friendly, patient and organised as well as being knowledgeable in navigation. The course was tailored to the experiences and needs of the group and we all learned a lot and had plenty of time to practice our new found skills. Highly recommended and will probably look to book something else with them in the future.

Jacquie - Sept 2013

Learning to Navigate

A group of my friends decided we would like to learn to Navigate so gave Peak Mountaineering a ring to see if they could help us. We wanted to go to Snowdonia so asked if we could arrange for the 1 day course to be held here this was agreed and we arranged to meet at the Pinnacle Cafe for our day in the hills. 

The rain was lashing and the wind strong but we all had a great time learning how to Navigate our way around the hills, keeping ourselves safe and having great fun getting it wrong too! Paul could tell when we where all wet enough and took us back to Cafe for warm Tea and Coffee where we had a fun quiz to test the skills we had learnt throughout the day.

We would definitely choose Peak Mountaineering again. Thanks Paul and your team for making our day great fun.

Jo - July 2013

Basic Navigation - Map and Compass Skills

Great tutor with a friendly, patient approach who deftly adapted the day to our needs. I would recommend this course to others who need basic training.

Dave - July 2013

Great Experience

I bought a days Nav course for my son for his birthday. He had a great time, Anne tailored the day to his requirements and his confidence had increased by the end of the day. The fact he had one to one tuition was a bonus and he couldn't wait to get back out in the hills finding his way with his new skills. Highly recommended.

Ian - July 2013

Top Quality Navigation Training

I was originally booked on the NNAS Silver Award and the course was unfortunately not able to run as I was the only one on it! Peak Mountaineering offered me the option of a one to one navigation skills session or a full refund and I decided to take the first option. I spent an excellent, informative day on the hills and moors above Strines with Neil who was patient, knowledgeable and willing to push me whilst always answering my many questions. The experience was a very positive one and I would have no hesitation in recommending these guys and will, no doubt, use them again nearer the time I take my ML assessment!

Angus - June 2013

Navigation and Steep Ground Course

Having done 2 courses previously with Paul, I came back for more. I think that says it all. Having now passed my ML Assessment first time it made it very clear to me the benefit of Paul's expertise and look forward to some winter skills courses in future!